Called to the bar

floor-mounted-double-ballet-bar-500x263There are 26 bones, 33 joints and more than a hundred muscles, tendons, and ligaments in the human foot. I suspect I’ll be able to identify them all by pain in a couple of days…my feet have taken a battering: yes, dear reader, I’ve had my first ballet lesson.

I’ve missed four weeks’ worth of classes so there’s quite a learning curve, but the A level French comes in handy – French is the lingua franca of classical ballet. Merveilleux!

I enjoyed myself, and part of the challenge I think I’ll relish most is learning to strike a balance between the technical skills and the artistry that add up to great dance. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves…much of the time I felt like a graceless gazelle leaping (stumbling) across the studio…it’s early days yet.

In the mean time, if the pain hasn’t subsided by Saturday, it might be a case of calling in on a very different type of bar.

Leave a Reply

